Where it fits in an AI server rack
Reported increased supply of FCBGA substrates for AI accelerators and server CPUs to major global big-tech customers and of MLCCs for AI servers and networks, with long-term MLCC supply agreements signed with more than 10 customers (Q2 2026 results, July 30, 2026). Signed a roughly KRW 1.5 trillion silicon-capacitor contract for 2027–28 with an unnamed global company; the capacitors sit inside GPU and HBM packages for AI servers (May 20, 2026). Its AI-server application page maps FCBGA to CPUs and GPUs, and MLCCs, tantalum capacitors and inductors to voltage regulators.
What the evidence establishes
AI-rack evidenceDisclosed: Samsung Electro-Mechanics’ Q2 2026 results cite FCBGAs for AI accelerators and server CPUs and MLCCs for AI servers; customers are not named.
An explicit AI-server or AI-rack product, design-in, supply role, program, reference design or partnership, such as a part named for rack-scale AI systems or a product sold for AI data centers. For a rack builder, it means the company’s own AI servers or racks. This does not establish revenue, market share, volumes or future sourcing.
| Component role | FCBGA substrates for AI accelerators; MLCCs and Si caps |
|---|---|
| Evidence | Disclosed: Samsung Electro-Mechanics’ Q2 2026 results cite FCBGAs for AI accelerators and server CPUs and MLCCs for AI servers; customers are not named. |
| How we know | Disclosed The company’s own filing, release, annual report, product page or investor record describes the AI-server or AI-rack role. Where customers are unnamed, the listing says so. |
| Primary source | Samsung Electro-Mechanics — supporting disclosure Company or official disclosure; vendor claims are attributed to their source. |
| Checked | . This is the research review date, not the source publication or quote time. |
Keep in perspective
Customers are unnamed, and AI products are part of a diversified components maker. The silicon-capacitor contract starts in 2027.
Diversified business exposure. This describes the breadth or role of the business; it is not an investment rating. An AI-server product, design-in or partnership does not by itself establish material AI-rack revenue, market share, or future returns.
Connections to the assembly
These links explain the technology relationship. The model is illustrative and does not represent an actual manufacturer’s bill of materials.
ABF package substrate
A large multilayer organic substrate made with build-up film. It fans the interposer’s dense connections out to the pitch of the board and carries power to the dies.
Scope of the company links: ABF (FCBGA) package substrates. Ibiden (strong GPU demand, substrates for AI servers and switching ICs) and Samsung Electro-Mechanics (FCBGAs for AI accelerators and server CPUs) disclose AI-accelerator substrate supply without naming customers. Unimicron markets FCBGA for AI servers and switches, and Nan Ya PCB is developing large, high-layer substrates for AI and HPC (positioning). Kinsus is named by ASE as an IC substrate supplier, with no AI program documented. Ajinomoto supplies the ABF insulating film to substrate makers and is an upstream enabler, not a substrate maker. Which substrate maker supplies a given GPU is reported, not disclosed.
Capacitors & inductors
Thousands of multilayer ceramic capacitors, polymer capacitors and inductors that filter noise and store energy around the chips and inside the power supplies.
Scope of the company links: MLCCs, polymer capacitors and inductors around the voltage regulators and supplies. Murata raised its FY2026 forecast on data-center components, particularly for AI servers (data-center revenue up 81% in Q1); Samsung Electro-Mechanics reports increased MLCC supply for AI servers and a silicon-capacitor contract for GPU and HBM packages (2026); Taiyo Yuden commercialized embeddable 22 µF and 100 µF MLCCs for high-current AI-server power circuits; Delta sells power chokes and TLVR inductors. Vishay cites AI-related power demand without a named server product, so it is adjacent. TDK and Yageo could not be sourced in our review and are not mapped; that is not a finding of no exposure. Which capacitor vendors sit on NVL72 boards is not disclosed.
Related research
Companies with overlapping sector exposure. Their products and evidence may differ; this is not a list of equivalent investments.
- AE
Advanced Energy Industries
AEIS · NASDAQORv3 power shelves and 800 V converters for AI data centers
AI-rack evidence - A
Advanced Micro Devices
AMD · NASDAQInstinct GPUs, EPYC CPUs, Pensando NICs and Helios racks
AI-rack evidence - Al
Alchip Technologies
3661.TW · TWSEASIC design and production for a cloud AI accelerator
AI-rack evidence - AO
Alpha and Omega Semiconductor
AOSL · NASDAQPower semiconductors for AI servers; 800 VDC partner
AI-rack evidence - Am
Amkor Technology
AMKR · NASDAQ2.5D packaging and test; NVIDIA Arizona partner
AI-rack evidence