Skip to research

COMPANY RESEARCH / 6981.T

Murata Manufacturing

Precision inertial measurement units

HUMANOID ROBOT

Where it fits in the robot

Murata’s six-axis inertial sensors combine gyroscope and accelerometer measurements for precise machine control and positioning.

What the evidence establishes

Adjacent technology

The source establishes a six-axis IMU for precision positioning. Balance relevance is inferred; it is not a six-axis force/torque transducer.

A relevant component capability. Its use in humanoids is an inference, not a disclosed customer relationship.

Component rolePrecision inertial measurement units
EvidenceThe source establishes a six-axis IMU for precision positioning. Balance relevance is inferred; it is not a six-axis force/torque transducer.
Primary sourceMurata Manufacturing — supporting disclosure
Company or official disclosure; vendor claims are attributed to their source.
Checked. This is the research review date, not the source publication or quote time.

Keep in perspective

Inertial feedback is relevant to robot balance, but this is a capability inference rather than a confirmed humanoid design win.

Diversified business exposure. This describes the breadth or role of the business; it is not an investment rating. A robotics product or development announcement does not by itself establish material humanoid revenue, market share, or future returns.

Connections to the assembly

This company is mapped at sector level. The reviewed evidence does not establish a direct match to a specific illustrated part. Explore sensors & feedback for the broader relationship.

AI SERVER RACK

Where it fits in an AI server rack

Raised its FY2026 revenue forecast on stronger demand for data-center components, particularly for AI servers: data-center-related revenue was ¥69.7 billion in Q1 FY2026 (13.9% of revenue, up 81.1% year on year) and is projected at ¥370.6 billion for the year (up 109.7%). Sales of MLCCs, EMI filters, server power supplies and data-center lithium-ion batteries rose (July 31, 2026).

What the evidence establishes

AI-rack evidence

Disclosed: Murata’s Q1 FY2026 results presentation attributes its raised forecast to data-center components, particularly for AI servers.

An explicit AI-server or AI-rack product, design-in, supply role, program, reference design or partnership, such as a part named for rack-scale AI systems or a product sold for AI data centers. For a rack builder, it means the company’s own AI servers or racks. This does not establish revenue, market share, volumes or future sourcing.

Component roleMLCCs, server power supplies and batteries for AI servers
EvidenceDisclosed: Murata’s Q1 FY2026 results presentation attributes its raised forecast to data-center components, particularly for AI servers.
How we knowDisclosed The company’s own filing, release, annual report, product page or investor record describes the AI-server or AI-rack role. Where customers are unnamed, the listing says so.
Primary sourceMurata Manufacturing — supporting disclosure
Company or official disclosure; vendor claims are attributed to their source.
Checked. This is the research review date, not the source publication or quote time.

Keep in perspective

The data-center figures are Murata’s own estimates and include general-purpose servers, HDDs and accelerator cards. Customers are unnamed, and the batteries’ data-center use is not specified as BBUs.

Diversified business exposure. This describes the breadth or role of the business; it is not an investment rating. An AI-server product, design-in or partnership does not by itself establish material AI-rack revenue, market share, or future returns.

Connections to the assembly

These links explain the technology relationship. The model is illustrative and does not represent an actual manufacturer’s bill of materials.

Power shelf PSUs

Hot-swap rectifier modules of several kilowatts each, grouped in 1U shelves, that turn facility AC into roughly 50 V DC for the busbar.

Scope of the company links: Hot-swap AC-to-DC rectifiers in 1U shelves feeding the busbar at about 50 V. NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply, with about half its volume given to capacitors storing 65 J per GPU, was co-designed with Lite-On, and Vertiv sells a 33 kW shelf of six 5.5 kW PSUs for GB200 and GB300. Delta, Flex and Advanced Energy sell AI power shelves and 800 VDC power racks, Megmeet is on NVIDIA’s 800 VDC component list, and Murata reports rising server power-supply sales. TI, onsemi, Infineon, Navitas, Power Integrations, ST and ROHM supply the GaN, SiC and control silicon inside supplies and are named for 800 VDC; which chips sit in a given shelf is not disclosed. Apart from Lite-On’s co-design, shelf suppliers for specific GB200/GB300 deployments are press reports and are not used. AcBel was a candidate but no source was captured. Luxshare lists power shelves for AI racks without naming a program.

Capacitors & inductors

Thousands of multilayer ceramic capacitors, polymer capacitors and inductors that filter noise and store energy around the chips and inside the power supplies.

Scope of the company links: MLCCs, polymer capacitors and inductors around the voltage regulators and supplies. Murata raised its FY2026 forecast on data-center components, particularly for AI servers (data-center revenue up 81% in Q1); Samsung Electro-Mechanics reports increased MLCC supply for AI servers and a silicon-capacitor contract for GPU and HBM packages (2026); Taiyo Yuden commercialized embeddable 22 µF and 100 µF MLCCs for high-current AI-server power circuits; Delta sells power chokes and TLVR inductors. Vishay cites AI-related power demand without a named server product, so it is adjacent. TDK and Yageo could not be sourced in our review and are not mapped; that is not a finding of no exposure. Which capacitor vendors sit on NVL72 boards is not disclosed.

Battery backup & energy storage

Lithium-ion battery backup units and capacitor-based storage that ride through short outages and smooth the sudden power swings of synchronized GPU work.

Scope of the company links: Battery backup units and capacitor storage that ride through outages and smooth load swings. NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply stores 65 J per GPU in electrolytic capacitors co-designed with Lite-On, and measured 30% lower peak grid demand with the rack’s smoothing features. Delta (80 kW BBUs embedded in 110 kW shelves; power-capacitance shelves), Flex (BBUs and capacitor backup units in its 800 VDC power rack) and Lite-On (power rack with integrated BBU) sell the units. Samsung SDI and LG Energy Solution market cylindrical cells for BBUs, and Murata reports data-center lithium-ion battery sales without saying they are BBUs. TI’s 800 V capacitor bank is a reference design, and LG’s NVIDIA DSX Ready BESS is facility-scale; neither is mapped.

Related research

Companies with overlapping sector exposure. Their products and evidence may differ; this is not a list of equivalent investments.

Suggest a correction · Research and market-data disclosures