Skip to research

COMPANY RESEARCH / VRT

Vertiv

GB200/GB300 power shelves, rack PDUs, CDUs and rear doors

Where it fits in an AI server rack

Sells the PowerDirect 3000, a 33 kW power shelf of six hot-swap 5.5 kW PSUs (about 50 V DC) for NVIDIA GB200 and GB300 platforms, and developed a 142 kW-per-rack power and cooling reference architecture for GB300 NVL72 (June 11, 2025). NVIDIA lists Vertiv as an 800 VDC data-center power partner, and Vertiv scheduled its 800 VDC portfolio for H2 2026. It also sells CoolChip CDUs (70–2,300 kW, in-rack to perimeter), CoolLoop rear-door heat exchangers, Geist rack PDUs and racks.

What the evidence establishes

AI-rack evidence

Disclosed: Vertiv’s product page names the PowerDirect 3000 shelf for GB200 and GB300, and its release describes a GB300 NVL72 reference architecture; NVIDIA lists Vertiv among 800 VDC partners.

An explicit AI-server or AI-rack product, design-in, supply role, program, reference design or partnership, such as a part named for rack-scale AI systems or a product sold for AI data centers. For a rack builder, it means the company’s own AI servers or racks. This does not establish revenue, market share, volumes or future sourcing.

Component roleGB200/GB300 power shelves, rack PDUs, CDUs and rear doors
EvidenceDisclosed: Vertiv’s product page names the PowerDirect 3000 shelf for GB200 and GB300, and its release describes a GB300 NVL72 reference architecture; NVIDIA lists Vertiv among 800 VDC partners.
How we knowDisclosed The company’s own filing, release, annual report, product page or investor record describes the AI-server or AI-rack role. Where customers are unnamed, the listing says so.
Primary sourceVertiv — supporting disclosure
Company or official disclosure; vendor claims are attributed to their source.
Checked. This is the research review date, not the source publication or quote time.

Keep in perspective

The product page and reference architecture do not establish share or which deployments use Vertiv shelves. Vertiv’s busbar and busway are facility products, not the rack’s DC busbar, so they are not mapped to it.

Specialist business exposure. This describes the breadth or role of the business; it is not an investment rating. An AI-server product, design-in or partnership does not by itself establish material AI-rack revenue, market share, or future returns.

Connections to the assembly

These links explain the technology relationship. The model is illustrative and does not represent an actual manufacturer’s bill of materials.

Power shelf PSUs

Hot-swap rectifier modules of several kilowatts each, grouped in 1U shelves, that turn facility AC into roughly 50 V DC for the busbar.

Scope of the company links: Hot-swap AC-to-DC rectifiers in 1U shelves feeding the busbar at about 50 V. NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply, with about half its volume given to capacitors storing 65 J per GPU, was co-designed with Lite-On, and Vertiv sells a 33 kW shelf of six 5.5 kW PSUs for GB200 and GB300. Delta, Flex and Advanced Energy sell AI power shelves and 800 VDC power racks, Megmeet is on NVIDIA’s 800 VDC component list, and Murata reports rising server power-supply sales. TI, onsemi, Infineon, Navitas, Power Integrations, ST and ROHM supply the GaN, SiC and control silicon inside supplies and are named for 800 VDC; which chips sit in a given shelf is not disclosed. Apart from Lite-On’s co-design, shelf suppliers for specific GB200/GB300 deployments are press reports and are not used. AcBel was a candidate but no source was captured. Luxshare lists power shelves for AI racks without naming a program.

Rack PDUs

Power distribution units that bring facility AC into the rack through breakers, with metering so operators can see each feed’s load.

Scope of the company links: Rack PDUs bring facility AC into the rack, with metering and breakers. Schneider updated its NetShelter Rack PDU Advanced for AI servers’ higher currents; Vertiv (Geist), Legrand (Raritan, Server Technology) and Delta (rPDUs) sell rack PDUs for AI and high-density data centers, and Flex lists PDUs in its portfolio. None of these sources names the PDU in a specific NVL72 deployment. Eaton’s rack-PDU line was not verified in our September 2026 review and is not mapped. nVent lists rack PDUs beside its liquid-cooling products.

Coolant distribution unit

Pumps, a heat exchanger, filters and controls that circulate the rack’s clean coolant and pass its heat to the building’s water loop.

Scope of the company links: In-rack CDUs like the illustrated one sit at the bottom of the rack: Kaori (4U in-rack CDU), Auras, SUNON (in-rack RPU/CDU, mass-production ready in 1H 2026), JetCool (Flex; SmartSense rack-mounted CDU), Envicool (rack CDU validated by Intel) and Forcecon (80 kW, catalog). Row- and facility-scale CDUs serve many racks: nVent (in its GB200 NVL72 reference architecture with NVIDIA), Delta (40–144 kW liquid-to-air; 1.5 MW liquid-to-liquid), Motivair by Schneider Electric (MCDU-70 in the Schneider–AMD Helios reference design; WCDU up to 3.5 MW), CoolIT (Ecolab), Vertiv (Liebert XDU), AVC, Nidec, Modine’s Airedale (400 kW–2 MW+) and Lite-On (a 600 kW in-row CDU announced in 2024). Sanyo Denki supplies a liquid-cooling pump, a CDU component rather than a CDU. LiquidStack is private. Eaton’s Boyd Thermal markets CDUs for GB200 NVL72 deployments, Supermicro’s GB300 NVL72 rack carries its own in-rack CDU of up to 250 kW, and Luxshare lists CDUs.

Rear-door heat exchanger

A door on the back of the rack with a liquid coil that captures the heat left in the exhaust air before it reaches the room.

Scope of the company links: Motivair by Schneider Electric’s ChilledDoor rear-door heat exchangers handle the air-cooled share in the Schneider–AMD Helios reference design (July 2026); nVent sells rear-door heat exchangers (RDHX PRO up to 78 kW); Delta lists a 50 kW rear-door heat exchanger; Vertiv sells Liebert DCD rear doors (up to 50 kW); Kaori Thermal sells RDHx units. A rear door is optional in NVL72-class deployments, and which racks use one is not disclosed. Supermicro sells a 120 kW rear-door heat exchanger, Dell a PowerCool enclosed rear-door heat exchanger, and Legrand the USystems ColdLogik rear doors.

Rack frame & panels

A reinforced steel frame of posts, cross members and panels sized for wide trays, a rear busbar and manifolds. The compute and switch trays alone weigh roughly 675 kg in NVL72-class designs.

Scope of the company links: Schneider Electric launched a rack system for NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 on the MGX architecture (June 2025), and Delta and Lite-On show racks for NVIDIA MGX. Vertiv says the three-rack configuration it deployed for the Naval Postgraduate School’s NVIDIA DGX GB300 included ‘AI infrastructure racks’ with power and liquid cooling (July 23, 2026), without saying whether they house the GB300 itself. Dell sells its own ORv3 21-inch IR7000 rack with its GB300 NVL72 systems; the fabricator is not disclosed. Legrand sells OCP racks with an ORv3 busbar, nVent lists server racks (AI-rack use not established) and AVC lists server cabinets. The MGX-rack makers Rittal (MGX Architecture Rack for GB200/GB300 NVL72, Oct 14, 2025) and Cheval (ORv3 MGX rack for GB200 NVL72) are private. Supermicro, Lenovo and Chenbro ship complete racks without naming the frame maker.

Related research

Companies with overlapping sector exposure. Their products and evidence may differ; this is not a list of equivalent investments.

Suggest a correction · Research and market-data disclosures