Skip to research

COMPANY RESEARCH / 2301.TW

Lite-On Technology

GB300 NVL72 power supply co-designed with NVIDIA

Where it fits in an AI server rack

NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply, which gives about half its volume to electrolytic capacitors storing 65 J per GPU under a new charge-management controller, was co-designed with LITEON; with the rack’s power-smoothing features NVIDIA measured 30% lower peak grid demand in Megatron LLM training (NVIDIA, July 28, 2025). At GTC 2026 (Mar 17, 2026) Lite-On showed an 800 VDC power rack, a 110 kW power shelf, a 2.1 MW in-row CDU, NVIDIA MGX-based liquid-cooled systems and racks, and power bricks for the Vera Rubin platform.

What the evidence establishes

AI-rack evidence

Partner-disclosed: NVIDIA’s technical blog says the GB300 NVL72 power supply’s energy storage was co-designed with LITEON; Lite-On’s GTC 2026 release covers its 800 VDC power rack, shelves and CDUs.

An explicit AI-server or AI-rack product, design-in, supply role, program, reference design or partnership, such as a part named for rack-scale AI systems or a product sold for AI data centers. For a rack builder, it means the company’s own AI servers or racks. This does not establish revenue, market share, volumes or future sourcing.

Component roleGB300 NVL72 power supply co-designed with NVIDIA
EvidencePartner-disclosed: NVIDIA’s technical blog says the GB300 NVL72 power supply’s energy storage was co-designed with LITEON; Lite-On’s GTC 2026 release covers its 800 VDC power rack, shelves and CDUs.
How we knowPartner-disclosed A named partner, customer or platform owner’s document names the company. The scope is that document’s product or program, not a general supply relationship.
Primary sourceLite-On Technology — supporting disclosure
Company or official disclosure; vendor claims are attributed to their source.
Checked. This is the research review date, not the source publication or quote time.

Keep in perspective

Co-design does not establish share, exclusivity or volumes, and NVIDIA names no other GB300 shelf supplier. Lite-On does not break out AI power revenue in these sources.

Diversified business exposure. This describes the breadth or role of the business; it is not an investment rating. An AI-server product, design-in or partnership does not by itself establish material AI-rack revenue, market share, or future returns.

Connections to the assembly

These links explain the technology relationship. The model is illustrative and does not represent an actual manufacturer’s bill of materials.

Power shelf PSUs

Hot-swap rectifier modules of several kilowatts each, grouped in 1U shelves, that turn facility AC into roughly 50 V DC for the busbar.

Scope of the company links: Hot-swap AC-to-DC rectifiers in 1U shelves feeding the busbar at about 50 V. NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply, with about half its volume given to capacitors storing 65 J per GPU, was co-designed with Lite-On, and Vertiv sells a 33 kW shelf of six 5.5 kW PSUs for GB200 and GB300. Delta, Flex and Advanced Energy sell AI power shelves and 800 VDC power racks, Megmeet is on NVIDIA’s 800 VDC component list, and Murata reports rising server power-supply sales. TI, onsemi, Infineon, Navitas, Power Integrations, ST and ROHM supply the GaN, SiC and control silicon inside supplies and are named for 800 VDC; which chips sit in a given shelf is not disclosed. Apart from Lite-On’s co-design, shelf suppliers for specific GB200/GB300 deployments are press reports and are not used. AcBel was a candidate but no source was captured. Luxshare lists power shelves for AI racks without naming a program.

Voltage regulators

Multiphase controllers, power stages and 48 V converter modules that step bus voltage down to below one volt at hundreds or thousands of amps, right beside each chip.

Scope of the company links: Multiphase controllers, power stages and 48 V or 800 V bus-converter modules stepping down to under 1 V at the chips. MPS reports stronger sales of power management for AI and server applications and is sampling an 800 V solution; Infineon calls AI data-center power its main growth driver. TI (a 6 V-to-sub-1 V multiphase buck in its 800 VDC architecture), onsemi, Navitas, AOS, Renesas and Analog Devices are on NVIDIA’s 800 VDC silicon lists or have announced 800 VDC work with NVIDIA; Vicor sells 48 V Power-on-Package modules for AI accelerators. Delta (TLVR regulators), Flex (vertical power delivery), Advanced Energy (800 V-to-50 V converters) and Lite-On (power bricks) sell modules. NVIDIA does not say whose power stages sit on a Blackwell board, and press share estimates are not used. Empower (being acquired by ADI) and Claros (being acquired by Navitas) are private; Richtek is a MediaTek subsidiary.

Battery backup & energy storage

Lithium-ion battery backup units and capacitor-based storage that ride through short outages and smooth the sudden power swings of synchronized GPU work.

Scope of the company links: Battery backup units and capacitor storage that ride through outages and smooth load swings. NVIDIA says the GB300 NVL72 power supply stores 65 J per GPU in electrolytic capacitors co-designed with Lite-On, and measured 30% lower peak grid demand with the rack’s smoothing features. Delta (80 kW BBUs embedded in 110 kW shelves; power-capacitance shelves), Flex (BBUs and capacitor backup units in its 800 VDC power rack) and Lite-On (power rack with integrated BBU) sell the units. Samsung SDI and LG Energy Solution market cylindrical cells for BBUs, and Murata reports data-center lithium-ion battery sales without saying they are BBUs. TI’s 800 V capacitor bank is a reference design, and LG’s NVIDIA DSX Ready BESS is facility-scale; neither is mapped.

Coolant distribution unit

Pumps, a heat exchanger, filters and controls that circulate the rack’s clean coolant and pass its heat to the building’s water loop.

Scope of the company links: In-rack CDUs like the illustrated one sit at the bottom of the rack: Kaori (4U in-rack CDU), Auras, SUNON (in-rack RPU/CDU, mass-production ready in 1H 2026), JetCool (Flex; SmartSense rack-mounted CDU), Envicool (rack CDU validated by Intel) and Forcecon (80 kW, catalog). Row- and facility-scale CDUs serve many racks: nVent (in its GB200 NVL72 reference architecture with NVIDIA), Delta (40–144 kW liquid-to-air; 1.5 MW liquid-to-liquid), Motivair by Schneider Electric (MCDU-70 in the Schneider–AMD Helios reference design; WCDU up to 3.5 MW), CoolIT (Ecolab), Vertiv (Liebert XDU), AVC, Nidec, Modine’s Airedale (400 kW–2 MW+) and Lite-On (a 600 kW in-row CDU announced in 2024). Sanyo Denki supplies a liquid-cooling pump, a CDU component rather than a CDU. LiquidStack is private. Eaton’s Boyd Thermal markets CDUs for GB200 NVL72 deployments, Supermicro’s GB300 NVL72 rack carries its own in-rack CDU of up to 250 kW, and Luxshare lists CDUs.

Rack frame & panels

A reinforced steel frame of posts, cross members and panels sized for wide trays, a rear busbar and manifolds. The compute and switch trays alone weigh roughly 675 kg in NVL72-class designs.

Scope of the company links: Schneider Electric launched a rack system for NVIDIA GB200 NVL72 on the MGX architecture (June 2025), and Delta and Lite-On show racks for NVIDIA MGX. Vertiv says the three-rack configuration it deployed for the Naval Postgraduate School’s NVIDIA DGX GB300 included ‘AI infrastructure racks’ with power and liquid cooling (July 23, 2026), without saying whether they house the GB300 itself. Dell sells its own ORv3 21-inch IR7000 rack with its GB300 NVL72 systems; the fabricator is not disclosed. Legrand sells OCP racks with an ORv3 busbar, nVent lists server racks (AI-rack use not established) and AVC lists server cabinets. The MGX-rack makers Rittal (MGX Architecture Rack for GB200/GB300 NVL72, Oct 14, 2025) and Cheval (ORv3 MGX rack for GB200 NVL72) are private. Supermicro, Lenovo and Chenbro ship complete racks without naming the frame maker.

Related research

Companies with overlapping sector exposure. Their products and evidence may differ; this is not a list of equivalent investments.

Suggest a correction · Research and market-data disclosures